Nobel Peace Prize: Journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov win

Nobel Peace Prize: Journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov win

Related Topics

Image source, Getty Images
Image caption, Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov jointly won the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize

Journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov have won the Nobel Peace Prize for their “courageous fight” to defend freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia.

The committee called the pair “representatives of all journalists who stand up for this ideal”.

The winners of the prestigious prize, worth 10m Swedish krona (£836,000; $1.1m), were announced at the Norwegian Nobel Institute in Oslo.

They were chosen out of 329 candidates.

Ms Ressa, who co-founded the news site Rappler, was commended for using freedom of expression to “expose abuse of power, use of violence and growing authoritarianism in her native country, the Philippines”.

The committee said Mr Muratov, who co-founded the independent newspaper Novaja Gazeta and had been its editor-in-chief for 24 years, had for decades defended freedom of speech in Russia under increasingly challenging conditions.

“Free, independent and fact-based journalism serves to protect against abuse of power, lies and war propaganda,” the committee said in a statement.

“Without freedom of expression and freedom of the press, it will be difficult to successfully promote fraternity between nations, disarmament and a better world order to succeed in our time,” it added.

The Nobel Peace Prize is intended to honour an individual or organisation that has “done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations”.

Last year’s winner was the United Nations World Food Programme (WFP), which was awarded for its efforts to combat hunger and improve conditions for peace.

More on this story

Source link